plagiarism is evil: see reasons

 plagiarism is evil: see reasons

Head of Department of English, University of Lagos, Prof Hope Eghagha, has rebuked students who plagiarise materials online.

Eghagha, who is also chief examiner of the Mike Okonkwo National Essay Competition for Secondary School pupils, said it led to the disqualification of 27 entries submitted for the competition.

Eghaga said: “After applying standard criteria in the assessment, we concluded that 27 entries were not original; in other words, they were plagiarised. This was after cross-checking each entry carefully with internet sources to determine their originality. This is one of the problems confronting us in the education sector currently. Some students simply download material from the internet and submit same as their original work”

Winners of the competition will be rewarded next Tuesday during the Mike Okonkwo Annual Lecture, holding at the Muson Centre, Onikan, Lagos.

Alexandra Nwigwe of Vivian Fowler Memorial College for Girls, Ikeja, scored 90 per cent in the first stage of the competition for her entry on the topic: “Made in Nigeria products: The vehicle for sustainable development.”  She scored 80 per cent in the second stage with the topic: “Religion and national development”, or “Does religion aid national development?” she wrote with eight others whose works were shortlisted from 796 entries received nationwide.

Alexandra will be rewarded with a star prize of N100,000, laptop, and plaque.  Her school, which has produced many past winners/runners up in the competition, will get three computers and a printer at the event organised annually to mark the birthday of Bishop Mike Okonkwo, the presiding bishop of The Redeemed Evangelical Mission (TREM).

In second place with 80 per cent in the first and 72 in the second stage of the competition, Mercy Jesuduntan Ipinmoye of Corona Secondary School Agbara will get N75,000, a plaque as well as two computers and a printer for her school; while Gbenga Akingbade of Emerald High School Lagos will get N50,000, a plaque one computer for the school for coming third.

The remaining six finalists – Chinedu Chimezie of Cedar College, Ipaja; Adedeji Aderemi of Grange School, G.R.A Ikeja; Atoyebi Israel of Kings College, Lagos; Olalere Victor of Deeper Life High School, Akure; Okadigbo Juliet of State Senior Grammar School, Surulere; and Kolawole Oladunni of Reagan Memorial Babtist Girls Secondary School, Yaba – will get a consolation price of N20,000 each.

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.