New Governing Council for 12 Varsities, 4 Polytechnics by FG

The Federal Government has inaugurated the governing councils of 12 universities, 4 polytechnics and National Library of Nigeria.
The Minister of Education, Mallam Ibrahim Shekarau, who presided over the inauguration of the new council members, cautioned them against undue interference in the day-to-day running of the institutions, adding that governing councils found wanting would be dissolved.

The 12 universities that got the new governing council include; Federal University, Lokoja; Federal University, Lafia; Federal University, Kashere; Federal University, Wukari; Federal University, Dutsin-Ma; Federal University, Dutse; Federal University, Ndufu-Alike; Federal University, Oye-Ekiti; Federal University, Otuoke; Federal University, Birnin-Kebbi; Federal University, Gusau, and Federal University, Gashua.
The polytechnics are Federal Polytechnic of Oil & Gas, Bonny; Federal Polytechnic, Ile-Oluji; Federal Polytechnic, Ukana, and National Institute of Construction Technology, Uromi.
Some of the appointed chairmen of councils includes a former Governor of Ogun State, Otunba Gbenga Daniel, who is the Chairman, Governing Council of Federal University in Kashere, Gombe State; a former Deputy Governor of Osun State and ex-Minister of State for Defence, Chief Olusola Obada, who heads the Governing Council of the Federal University in Dutsin-Ma, Katsina State.
A former Chief of Army Staff during the regime of the late dictator, Gen. Sani Abacha, Lt. Gen. Ishaya Bamaiya (retd.), was also appointed Chairman, Governing Council of the Federal Polytechnic of Oil and Gas in Bonny, Rivers State.
Also speaking during the event, the Executive Secretary of the National Universities Commission (NUC), Prof. Julius Okojie, cautioned the Governing Councils against exhibiting domineering attitude.

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.