Universities of Technology Gets NUC Approval To Offer Dental Technology

The Executive Secretary, National Universities Commission (NUC), Professor Julius A. Okojie, has said that, so far, only Universities of Technology could be approved to run a B.Sc Dental Technology in the Nigerian University System (NUS).
He made this known when he received a delegation from the Dental Technologists Registration Board of Nigeria, (DTRBN) led by its Registrar, Dr. Yinka Olaiya who paid him courtesy visit on Wednesday 5, November, 2014, in his office.
Professor Okojie, observed that after all the necessary diligence had been put in place Dental Technology would be incorporated as part of the programmes run by the Universities of Technology to ensure a better outing, since the programme had direct link with the specialized institution.
He noted that although it was not only when the Commission approved BSc programme for the Board before they could do better,stressing that if the members strive harder to leverage on their skills by developing laboratories, thereby standardizing their quality.
The Executive Secretary directed the delegation to liaise with the Department of Academic Standards for proper mentoring on how the Board could effectively handle the task, adding that there were lots of fundamental issues which the Board needed to put in place including the Philosophy of Programme, Vision, Mission, among other essential information regarding the introduction of a new programme in the NUS.
He advised the Board to forward its proposal on the matter to the that the Commission would be in touch with targeted universities after which, he said, a meeting of stakeholders would be conveyed for further action on the matter.
Briefing the Executive Secretary, earlier, the Registrar recalled that the Dental Technology profession was established by the enactment of British government ordinance of 1952, approved by her Majesty, signed by Sir, John Stuart Macpherson.
He added that the enactment of the ordinance of 1952 provided for the training, registration, regulation and control of Medical Auxiliaries, stressing that this subsequently led to the establishment of many schools, including Federal School of Dental Technology, Lagos in 1955, which later relocated to Enugu in January 1982, School of Radiology Yaba, Lagos, School of Medical Laboratory, Jos as well as School of Physiotherapy Kano, among others.

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.