UNILAG Awards Endowment Scholarship to 982 Students

A total of nine hundred and eighty two (982) students has benefited from the 2012/2013 Endowment Scholarship Awards of the University of Lagos (UNILAG). The students received the awards on Thursday, November 6, 2014 during the scholarship awards ceremony held in the Julius Berger Lecture Theatre, UNILAG Main Campus, Akoka.
The event, organised by the UNILAG Office of Advancement, was held under the chairmanship of the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Rahamon A. Bello, FAEng; ably assisted by the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Management Services), Professor Duro Oni; Registrar, Dr. (Mrs.) Taiwo F. Ipaye, MNIM; Bursar, Mr. Lateef Odekunle; Dean, Students Affairs Division, Professor Tunde Babawale  and Professor M.C. Isiekwe who represented the Chairman, Advancement Board.
The Endowment Scholarship Awards Ceremony was initiated by authorities of the University to encourage hard-work and zealousness among students in their academic activities. The awards which are in various categories attract various monetary values.
The categories are as follows:
1. Students with academic distinction.
2. Students with distinctive leadership qualities.
3. Physically challenged students.
4. Indigent students.
5. Outstanding sportsmen/women.
In his opening remarks at the awards ceremony, the Chairman of the University of Lagos Advancement Board, Mr. Mac Ovbiagele who was represented by Professor M.C. Isiekwe expressed profound appreciation to the University endowment partners whose support have contributed to improving facilities on the campus and assisting students in their academic work.
He disclosed that funding of the Endowment Scholarship was derived from interests generated through investment of the UNILAG General Endowment Fund, which is a pool of all cash donations received from Alumni, friends, parents, students, contractors, staff and other benefactors.
In his address, the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Rahamon A. Bello, said that for the year 2012/2013 awards a total of N41, 450,000.00 is to be disbursed to 982 students, who qualified, and that is why we are having this ceremony. Out of these 67 are for Academic Excellence (students with CGPA of a 4.5 and above) with the sum of N 50, 000 each, 8 are for students with Leadership Qualities in the sum of N 25,000 each, 61 are for outstanding sportsmen and women at N 25,000 each, 173 are for needy (indigent) students collecting N 25,000 each while 64 are for the physically-challenged in the sum of N 25,000 each. In all, awardees must be in good standing.
The VC congratulated the awardees and wished them all the best in their various academic pursuits.

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.